CATHERINES Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CATHERINES.

Embroidered Gauze Peasant

Feminine peasant top gives you a fresh look with a blooming, floral thread design. Cotton gauze fabric provides a relaxed, comfortable style during warm-weather months. Gentle smocking accents the neckline. Complete with a henley button-front placket and short sleeves. Add a solid tank underneath for lightweight layering. Catherines tops are perfectly proportioned for the plus size woman.
Average Customer Rating:
3.417 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
6 out of 12(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Embroidered Gauze Peasant
Review 1 for Embroidered Gauze Peasant
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissSusannah
City: Ham Lake
State: Minnesota
Age: Over 65
Shopping Preference: In store
It's a new style
Date:October 20, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
This blouse is one of the newer styles and very comfortable. In Fact I have a black one just like it. It is a good fit for size and not as long as some of the blouses can be.... It is just right!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Embroidered Gauze Peasant
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MOMAK
Would buy larger size than needed.
Date:October 7, 2013
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
I bought this shirt in my size, Loved it, wore it to work and got loads of compliments. Second time through a "gentle cycle" wash and it has shrunk so much it is extremley more form fitting than when I bought it. I would love to return it and get a larger size knowing now to get 1 - 2 sizes larger. There is no way of telling if the shirt will continue to shrink.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Embroidered Gauze Peasant
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chipper52
Not for me
Date:August 13, 2013
Pros: Comfort
Cons: Fit
Returning. Looks like something a discount store would offer but the price wasn't!
Response from CATHERINES:By CatherinesAugust 26, 2013
We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with this top. Please email us or give us a call if we can help you with your return. Thank you for sharing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Embroidered Gauze Peasant
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pctchr
City: Wilmington
State: Delaware
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Great top for summer weather
Date:July 25, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, color, fabric weight
Cons: elasticized sleeves
I really like this shirt; in fact I am wearing it now to go out for lunch. The only thing I would change is the elastic around the sleeves, as I'm not a fan of that in general. But it's NOT tight and I really don't mind it. I would just prefer that the sleeves would be finished another way. Haven't washed it yet (just got it), so can't comment on that, but I think it will wash pretty well, and I won't have to iron it! Love the gauze fabric as it's lightweight and I like the sleeve length, although I wouldn't object to it being a little longer (just an inch or so--not 3/4 sleeve). The rose color (a muted bright pink) is great--very versatile,, and the length is perfect (long enough to cover everything). Neckline is just right for summer too. The top is very comfortable! The elastic is the only thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars, but again, just a personal preference. I'm a size 4x (on the verge of 5x) that sweats a lot in the heat, and it's hard for me to find comfortable summer shirts that are easy wear, easy care...this one is great!
Response from CATHERINES:By CatherinesJuly 30, 2013
We're so glad to hear you like our Embroidered Gauze Peasant. We will keep your comments in mind when designing future collections. Thanks for sharing!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Embroidered Gauze Peasant
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susiem
City: Toms River
State: New Jersey
Age: Over 65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Wonderful
Date:July 24, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Cons: not enough colors
This shirt is lightweight and wonderful for these hot steamy days on the east coast love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Embroidered Gauze Peasant
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cupcake1947
City: San Francisco
State: California
Age: Over 65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
A little too tight
Date:July 2, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, Comfort
I had hoped it would have more room to it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Embroidered Gauze Peasant
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
catsnorchids
City: Fort Myers
State: Florida
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: Online
WRONG FOR ME
Date:June 24, 2013
Pros: Style, Comfort
Cons: Fit
The ONLY reason I did not keep this very cute blouse is that the sleeves were not long enough to cover my arms down to and including my elbow. If you don't have a problem with your lower arms showing a little, its a VERY cute blouse. The color is great (I got pink) and the embroidery cute. It really was a very nice blouse, but I know I would never be completely comfortable in it because of the arm thing. So sorry, I had to return it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Embroidered Gauze Peasant
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NORCONATIVE
Cool and cute
Date:June 9, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, cool
Light weight but not see through. Great for summer. The gauze fabric allows the blouse to breathe and for you to stay cool. I washed this blouse on gentle with cold water and hung to dry. It dried overnight and stayed in shape. Stylish enough for office wear and it is very comfortable as well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Embroidered Gauze Peasant
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fluff1621
City: ELIZABETH
State: New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Date:June 4, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I liked this top so much in blue that I bought it in black.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Embroidered Gauze Peasant
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Grandmother
City: Of no value
State: New Hampshire
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Way too expensive
Date:May 11, 2013
The fabric of this top is way too thin and the neckline too large. There is no way I could get down on the floor and play with my grands in this top without being totally exposed. Also I won't be wearing this anywhere but when by myself gardening because of the transparency of the fabric. Maybe I'm just too old. Is it too much to ask for some modesty in our clothing?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Embroidered Gauze Peasant
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
profesora
State: Alabama
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Stitching will come undone
Date:May 10, 2013
I love the look, feel, and fit of this blouse. However, the stitching comes loose easily. I looked at others in teh store and each one had stitching missing or sticking out and if you pull it, it will unravel.
Response from CATHERINES:By CatherinesMay 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. If you call or email our Customer Service department, we'd be happy to assist you with an exchange or return. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope to hear from you soon so we can fix the issue right away!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Embroidered Gauze Peasant
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LovesVizslas
City: San Diego
State: California
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Be Warned!
Date:May 3, 2013
Pros: Style
Cons: shirnks leaves white fuzz
Because of the dye smell I always wash before I wear. I washed this blouse in cold water on hand wash cycle then hung it up to dry and it shrunk!! probably a good 2 sizes and in addition the fabric is all puckered around the embroidery, if you iron it it will flatten the crinkle of the fabric. In addition the embroidery leaves write fuzz on the black fabric. Too bad because it is really, really cute.
Response from CATHERINES:By CatherinesMay 22, 2013
We're sorry to hear you experienced quality issues with this top. We do recommend machine washing for our garments. We have passed along your feedback to our Merchandising department for further review. Thank you for your comments.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.