CATHERINES Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At CATHERINES
Shop 9.99 Bras or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean

Our sleek and sophisticated Secret Slimmer® Synergy jean is now updated with a modern, bootcut leg. Polished style features premium, stretch denim fabric and a comfort waist. Tummy-control panel inside the waistband firms and flattens your figure. Zipper opening has an embossed Catherines flourish to give it our unique touch. Includes two front pockets and embroidered back pockets. Catherines pants are specifically designed with the plus size woman in mind.
Average Customer Rating:
3.706 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
12 out of 17(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Review 1 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
CjoF
State: Texas
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Is everyone short?
Date:March 24, 2014
Pros: Style
Cons: Fit, too short
I really love the pants but they should call them "capris"!!. I don't know who made the decision that everyone is short and likes their pants up past their ankles. I have never had to order talls but some short person decided tha tEVERYONE likes short pants. The pants are good fitting otherwise. And Catherine's isn't selling talls in most styles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chrylsmt
Date:March 12, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Love these jeans!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
greatlength
State: Virginia
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store
I'm 5'11" and they are the perfect length
Date:February 26, 2014
I'm 5'11" they are the perfect length. Most jeans are to short, these were the perfect length for me and very comfortable to wear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FarmerGal
State: Illinois
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store
Better fit than many other jeans
Date:February 21, 2014
Pros: Style
Cons: iffy construction, light- to medium-weight denim
Was looking for jeans that didn't gap in the back. Figured the moderately curvy styles might work, but none available in the store in my size (16W).
So tried these -- they were on clearance, so the monetary risk was reduced.
Better fit than most other jeans I've tried, but not quite there. But I don't seem to need a belt to hold them up.
If you are thinking of getting petite sizing, be careful.
The jeans shrank lengthwise (as I hoped they would as 16W is a bit too roomy for me). Washed in warm water, put in the dryer on regular cycle. Did shrink in length throughout the jeans -- legs and seat area.
The stitching on the waist band didn't wash and dry well -- from the inside it looks like it's going to give out so a repair may be in order soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ronnie1949
City: Garland
State: Texas
Great
Date:February 17, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Just great jeans -- I went down 2 sizes and these were on sale and I thought why not try them. The fit is great and and the lenghth is perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrie9596
City: Memphis
State: Tennessee
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Best Jeans Ever!!!
Date:January 31, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I LOVE these jeans. The fit is amazing. They are great quality. I have bought and tried on jeans and this is by far the best pair I have ever had. The waist is big enough but the hips and thighs aren't too baggy. I can move and breathe and look very nice and stylish in them. I went back and bought several more pair. If you are big in the waist and smalled in the hips and thighs these are the pants for you!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SCowdery
State: Texas
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: Online
Date:January 28, 2014
Pros: Comfort
I love these jeans! they fit right, feel good and are made to last! Thank you, Catherine's!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gunner1950
City: Crandall
State: Texas
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: Online
Excellent Purchase
Date:January 27, 2014
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
Ordering via online or mail order is always chancy when it comes to fit, but I loved these jeans! Fit me perfectly! I plan to purchase more of this same style in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fluff1621
City: Volo
State: Illinois
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: Online
Date:January 22, 2014
Pros: Style, great price
Cons: Fit
To much material in the hip and thighs. Other wise perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DisappointedinNY
State: New York
Shopping Preference: Online
Too low on the hips
Date:January 2, 2014
Cons: Fit, Item not as described
When you are obviously overweight buying pants that are so low wasted is ridiculous.
Response from CATHERINES:By CatherinesJanuary 10, 2014
We're happy to hear that you tried our bootcut jean, and will keep your feedback in mind for when designing future collections.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MoreThanMyWeight
City: Jackson
State: Mississippi
Age: 35-44
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Love the fit and the look!
Date:December 6, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort
I bought a pair of Liz jeans several years ago and they are still my favorite as far as comfort. They fit differently than all of the other jeans at Catherines and I have never found another pair until these. They aren't exactly the same but they are pretty close. They seem built for those of us with big low bellies. All other jeans (including the red, yellow, and blue coding they used to have) never fit the way these do.
They do run a bit long for me. I am 5'8 but I have short legs. These are about 2" too long for me so if you are in my situation, I might go for the petite with a shorter inseam.
I also have found that a bootcut is more flattering for those of use with large bellies because it evens out the focus on the stomach and makes us look more proportionate. Instead of a big belly on stick look, the bootcut just takes that away. I get a lots of compliments when I wear my older pair. I am so glad to have found these. Just have to get them hemmed a bit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Greeneyedlady54
City: Dekalb
State: Illinois
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Will be returning these
Date:November 16, 2013
Cons: Item not as described
The picture makes them look like they are more like they are a small boot cut when in fact they look like big bell bottoms. Hated them!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
darnit
City: Scottdale
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: Online
Terrible fit
Date:October 28, 2013
I ALWAYS buy these jeans! I bought the same exact size as last years stock and this year they are too tight and about 12" to LONG! Now I have to pay to return them! !!!
Response from CATHERINES:By CatherinesNovember 18, 2013
We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with this jean. We have passed along your feedback to our Merchandising department to keep in mind for future collections. If you call or email our Customer Service department, we'd be happy to assist you with an exchange or return. We hope to hear from you soon!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mamatraub
City: Sacramento
State: California
Age: Over 65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Long enough for me.
Date:October 27, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, length
I am 5'9''. It is hard to find long enough, these fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
justsuse
City: Tucson
State: Arizona
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: Online
Fit
Date:October 24, 2013
Pros: Fit, Comfort
It is always hard for me to find a good jeans fit because if it fits in the hips it's usually way too big in the waist. But not so with these and the length isn't way too long. I took a chance ordering jeans online and it paid off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bartender
City: Clinton
State: Illinois
Age: 45-54
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Everyone Should Try These
Date:September 18, 2013
Pros: Style, Fit, Comfort, modern style
I am so glad that Catherine's has come back out with a bootcut jean. These jeans are really comfortable and look great. You can wear them all day and they do not stretch completely out. Everyone should try a pair. They are very flattering with the bootcut. A much more modern jean for what Catherine's usually has. I got the petite length. Loving not having to hem jeans. Give them a try, you will love them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Slimmer Synergy Modern Bootcut Jean
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lini
City: Indianapolis
State: Indiana
Age: 55-65
Shopping Preference: In store and online
Nice but I have to return
Date:September 16, 2013
These are very nice looking jeans. I wanted to try them since they had the "slimmer" panel in them. However, I don't like really close fitting clothing so I took a chance and went up a size. Glad I did....these jeans for my personal taste are still way too close fitting through the thigh especially. I did have to suck it in to get them zipped but then they were semi-comfortable. I sat down in them and thought no way would I be comfortable in these sitting and driving or at work. Granted, they may stretch a bit as you wear them, but I don't think enough for me to be comfortable in them all day. The fabric was also a little thinner than I expected. I guess these would be super if all you had to do was stand and look good! :) Anyway, I am returning them, regretfully, because they WERE very attractive and yes, they did slim. I guess I want it all ....slimming and still loose fitting. Oh, I did like the fact that they really came to my waist! It's not that I wouldn't recommend these, but only with a caveat that you might have to return and switch sizes. I hope they work for you!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.